Site Feedback

Title 42

Displaying title 42, up to date as of 9/23/2021. Title 42 was last amended 9/15/2021.

Title 42

eCFR Content

The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is the official legal print publication containing the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. The Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (eCFR) is a continuously updated online version of the CFR. It is not an official legal edition of the CFR.

Learn more about the eCFR, its status, and the editorial process.

§ 88.12 Enrollment decision - certified-eligible survivors.

(a) The WTC Health Program will prioritize certification requests in the order in which they are received.

(b) The WTC Health Program will review the physician's determination, render a decision regarding certification of the individual's WTC-related health condition, and notify the individual of the decision and the reason for the decision in writing, pursuant to §§ 88.17 and 88.18.

(1) If the individual is a screening-eligible survivor and the individual's condition is certified as a WTC-related health condition, the individual will automatically receive the status of a certified-eligible survivor.

(2) If a screening-eligible survivor's condition is not certified as a WTC-related health condition pursuant to §§ 88.17 and 88.18, the WTC Health Program will deny certified-eligible status. The screening-eligible survivor may appeal the decision to deny certification, as provided under § 88.21.

(3) The WTC Health Program may deny certified-eligible survivor status of an otherwise eligible and qualified screening-eligible survivor if the Act's numerical limitations for certified-eligible survivors have been met.

(i) No more than 25,000 individuals, other than those described in § 88.7, may be determined to be certified-eligible survivors at any time. The Administrator of the WTC Health Program may decide, based on the best available evidence, that sufficient funds are available under the WTC Health Program Fund to provide treatment and monitoring only for individuals who have already been certified as certified-eligible survivors at that time.

(ii) [Reserved]

(4) No individual who is determined to be a positive match to the terrorist watch list maintained by the Federal government may qualify to be a certified-eligible survivor in the WTC Health Program.