Site Feedback

Title 12

Displaying title 12, up to date as of 9/14/2021. Title 12 was last amended 9/13/2021.

Title 12

eCFR Content

The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is the official legal print publication containing the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. The Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (eCFR) is a continuously updated online version of the CFR. It is not an official legal edition of the CFR.

Learn more about the eCFR, its status, and the editorial process.


12 U.S.C. 1819, 1823(k)(5).

§ 357.1 Economically depressed regions.

(a) Purpose. Section 13(k)(5) of the Federal Deposit Insurance Act (12 U.S.C. 1823(k)(5)) provides that the FDIC shall consider proposals for financial assistance for eligible insured savings associations before grounds exist for appointment of a conservator or receiver for such member. One of the criteria for eligibility is that an institution's offices are located in an economically depressed region as determined by the FDIC.

(b) Economically depressed regions.

(1) For the purpose of determining “economically depressed regions”, the FDIC will determine whether an institution qualifies as being located in an “economically depressed region” on a case-by-case basis. That determination will be based on four criteria:

(i) High unemployment rates;

(ii) Significant declines in non-farm employment;

(iii) High delinquency rates of real estate assets at insured depository institutions; and

(iv) Evidence indicating declining real estate values.

(2) In addition, the FDIC will also consider relevant information from institutions regarding their geographic market area, as well as information on whether that market is “economically depressed”.

[55 FR 11161, Mar. 27, 1990, as amended at 63 FR 10295, Mar. 3, 1998; 71 FR 20527, Apr. 21, 2006]