e-CFR Navigation Aids


Simple Search

Advanced Search

 — Boolean

 — Proximity


Search History

Search Tips


Latest Updates

User Info


Agency List

Incorporation By Reference

eCFR logo

Related Resources

Electronic Code of Federal Regulations

We invite you to try out our new beta eCFR site at https://ecfr.federalregister.gov. We???ve made big changes to make the eCFR easier to use. Be sure to leave feedback using the Help button on the bottom right of each page!

e-CFR data is current as of August 4, 2020

Title 49Subtitle APart 71 → §71.2

Title 49: Transportation

§71.2   Annual advancement of standard time.

(a) The Uniform Time Act of 1966 (15 U.S.C. 260a(a)), as amended, requires that the standard time of each State observing Daylight Saving Time shall be advanced 1 hour beginning at 2 a.m. on the second Sunday in March of each year and ending at 2 a.m. on the first Sunday in November. This advanced time shall be the standard time of each zone during such period. The Act authorizes any State to exempt itself from this requirement. States in two or more time zones may exempt either the entire State or may exempt the entire area of the State lying within either time zone.

(b) Section 3(b) of the Uniform Time Act of 1966 (15 U.S.C. 260a(b)) provides that “it is the express intent of Congress  *  *  *  to supersede any and all laws of the States or political subdivisions thereof insofar as they may now or hereafter provide for advances in time or changeover dates different from those specified in [section 3(a) of that Act]”, which are those specified in paragraph (a) of this section.

[Amdt. 71-11, 35 FR 12318, Aug. 1, 1970, as amended by Amdt. 71-21, 52 FR 41631, Nov. 18, 1986; 78 FR 15885, Mar. 13, 2013]

Need assistance?