e-CFR banner


e-CFR Navigation Aids


Simple Search

Advanced Search

 — Boolean

 — Proximity


Search History

Search Tips


Latest Updates

User Info


Agency List

Incorporation By Reference

eCFR logo

Related Resources


Electronic Code of Federal Regulations

e-CFR data is current as of February 18, 2020

Title 34Subtitle BChapter VIPart 609Subpart A → §609.2

Title 34: Education
Subpart A—General

§609.2   What institutions are eligible to receive a grant under this part?

(a) An institution or an institution's qualified graduate program listed in paragraph (b) of this section is eligible to receive a grant under this part if the Secretary determines that the institution is making a substantial contribution to legal, medical, dental, veterinary or other graduate education opportunities for Black Americans.

(b) The institutions and programs referred to in paragraph (a) of this section are—

(1) Morehouse School of Medicine;

(2) Meharry Medical School;

(3) Charles R. Drew Postgraduate Medical School;

(4) Clark Atlanta University;

(5) Tuskegee Institute School of Veterinary Medicine;

(6) Xavier University School of Pharmacy;

(7) Southern University School of Law;

(8) Texas Southern University School of Law and School of Pharmacy;

(9) Florida A&M University School of Pharmaceutical Sciences;

(10) North Carolina Central University School of Law;

(11) Morgan State University's qualified graduate program;

(12) Hampton University's qualified graduate program;

(13) Alabama A&M's qualified graduate program;

(14) North Carolina A&T State University's qualified graduate program;

(15) University of Maryland Eastern Shore's qualified graduate program; and

(16) Jackson State University's qualified graduate program.

(c) An institution that was awarded a grant prior to October 1, 1992 may continue to receive grant payments, regardless of the eligibility of the graduate institutions described in paragraphs (b)(6) through (16) of this section, until the institution's grant period has expired or September 30, 1993, whichever is later.

(d) No institution of higher education or university system may receive more than one grant under this section in any fiscal year.

(Authority: 20 U.S.C. 1063b(e))

Need assistance?