e-CFR Navigation Aids


Simple Search

Advanced Search

 — Boolean

 — Proximity


Search History

Search Tips


Latest Updates

User Info


Agency List

Incorporation By Reference

eCFR logo

Related Resources

Electronic Code of Federal Regulations

We invite you to try out our new beta eCFR site at https://ecfr.federalregister.gov. We have made big changes to make the eCFR easier to use. Be sure to leave feedback using the Help button on the bottom right of each page!

e-CFR data is current as of September 24, 2020

Title 19Chapter IPart 4 → §4.22

Title 19: Customs Duties

§4.22   Exemptions from special tonnage taxes.

Vessels of the following nations are exempted by treaties, Presidential proclamations, or orders of the Secretary of the Treasury from the payment of any higher tonnage duties than are applicable to vessels of the United States and are exempted from the payment of light money:

Algeria   Korea
Antigua and Barbuda   Kuwait
Arab Republic of Egypt   Latvia
Argentina   Lebanon
Australia   Liberia
Austria   Libya
Bahamas, The   Lithuania
Bahrain   Luxembourg
Bangladesh   Malaysia
Barbados   Malta
Belgium   Marshall Islands, Republic of
Belize   Mauritius
Bermuda   Mexico
Bolivia   Monaco
Brazil   Morocco
Bulgaria   Nauru, Republic of
Burma   Netherlands
Canada   Netherlands Antilles
Chile   New Zealand
Colombia   Nicaragua
Cook Islands   Nigeria
Costa Rica   Norway
Cuba   Oman
Cyprus   Pakistan
Czechoslovakia   Panama
Denmark (including the Faeroe Islands)   Papua New Guinea
Dominica   Paraguay
Dominican Republic   People's Republic of China
Ecuador   Peru
El Salvador   Philippines
Estonia   Poland
Ethiopia   Portugal
Fiji   Qatar
Finland   Rumania
France   Saudi Arabia
Gambia, The   Senegal
German Democratic Republic   Singapore, Republic
German Federal Republic   Somali, Republic
Ghana   Spain
Great Britain (including the Cayman Islands)   Sri Lanka
Greece   St. Vincent and The Grenadines
Greenland   Surinam, Republic of
Guatemala   Sweden
Guinea, Republic of   Switzerland
Guyana   Syrian Arab Republic
Haiti   Taiwan
Honduras   Thailand
Hong Kong   Togo
Hungarian People's Republic   Tonga
Iceland   Tunisia
India   Turkey
Indonesia   Tuvalu
Iran   Union of South Africa
Iraq   Union of Soviet Socialist Republics
Ireland (Eire)   United Arab Emirates (Abu Dhabi, Ajman, Dubai, Fujairah, Ras Al Khaimah, Sharjah, and Umm Al Qaiwain)
Israel   Uruguay
Italy   Vanuatu, Republic of
Ivory Coast, Republic of   Venezuela
Jamaica   Yugoslavia
Japan   Zaire

[28 FR 14596, Dec. 31, 1963]

Editorial Note: For Federal Register citations affecting §4.22, see the List of CFR Sections Affected, which appears in the Finding Aids section of the printed volume and at www.govinfo.gov.

Need assistance?