e-CFR banner


e-CFR Navigation Aids


Simple Search

Advanced Search

 — Boolean

 — Proximity


Search History

Search Tips


Latest Updates

User Info


Agency List

Incorporation By Reference

eCFR logo

Related Resources


Electronic Code of Federal Regulations

e-CFR data is current as of June 2, 2020

Title 13Chapter IPart 123Subpart A → §123.4

Title 13: Business Credit and Assistance
Subpart A—Overview

§123.4   What is a disaster area and why is it important?

Each disaster declaration defines the geographical areas affected by the disaster. Only those victims located in the declared disaster area are eligible to apply for SBA disaster loans. When the President declares a major disaster, the Federal Emergency Management Agency defines the disaster area. In major disasters, economic injury disaster loans and IDAP loans may be made for victims in contiguous counties or other political subdivisions, provided, however that with respect to major disasters which authorize public assistance only, SBA shall not make economic injury disaster or IDAP loans in counties contiguous to the disaster area. Disaster declarations issued by the Administrator of SBA include contiguous counties for both physical, economic injury and, in some cases, IDAP assistance. Contiguous counties or other political subdivisions are those land areas which abut the land area of the declared disaster area without geographic separation other than by a minor body of water, not to exceed one mile between the land areas of such counties.

[61 FR 3304, Jan. 31, 1996, as amended at 67 FR 64519, Oct. 21, 2002; 75 FR 60597, Oct. 1, 2010]

Need assistance?