e-CFR Navigation Aids


Simple Search

Advanced Search

 — Boolean

 — Proximity


Search History

Search Tips


Latest Updates

User Info


Agency List

Incorporation By Reference

eCFR logo

Related Resources

Electronic Code of Federal Regulations

We invite you to try out our new beta eCFR site at https://ecfr.federalregister.gov. We have made big changes to make the eCFR easier to use. Be sure to leave feedback using the Feedback button on the bottom right of each page!

e-CFR data is current as of May 13, 2021

Title 50Chapter ISubchapter A → Part 2

Title 50: Wildlife and Fisheries


§2.1   Headquarters.
§2.2   Regional offices.

Authority: 5 U.S.C. 301.

return arrow Back to Top

§2.1   Headquarters.

The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service is composed of a main office in the Washington, DC, area, referred to as “Headquarters”; eight regional offices, which are described in §2.2; and a variety of field installations, a nationwide network of law enforcement agents, and a number of field study teams for biological and ecological activities. Headquarters includes the Office of the Director, as well as program areas headed by Assistant Directors.

(a) The address for the Office of the Director is: Office of the Director, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Main Interior, 1849 C Street NW., Room 3331, Washington, DC 20240-0001.

(b) The address of Headquarters program areas is: U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Headquarters, MS: [Insert appropriate Mail Stop from table], 5275 Leesburg Pike, Falls Church, VA 22041-3803.

Headquarters programMail stop
Business Management and OperationsMS: BMO.
Budget, Planning and Human Capital, including:
  Service's Information Collection Clearance OfficerMS: BPHC.
External AffairsMS: EA.
Ecological Services, Including:
  Division of Environmental ReviewMS: ES.
Fish and Aquatic Conservation, including:
  Division of Fish and Aquatic Conservation ProgramsMS: FAC.
International Affairs, including:
  Division of Management AuthorityMS: IA.
  Division of Scientific Authority
Information Resource and Technology ManagementMS: IRTM.
Migratory Birds, including:
  Division of Migratory Bird ManagementMS: MB.
  Division of Bird Habitat Conservation
National Wildlife Refuge SystemMS: NWRS.
Office of Diversity and Inclusive Workforce ManagementMS: ODIWM.
Office of Law EnforcementMS: OLE.
Science ApplicationsMS: SA.
Wildlife and Sport Fish RestorationMS: WSFR.

[79 FR 43963, July 29, 2014]

return arrow Back to Top

§2.2   Regional offices.

The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service has eight regional offices that are responsible for implementing national policies. Each Regional Director has jurisdiction over Service activities performed by field installations in the State(s) encompassed by the region. Field installations include ecological services stations, endangered species stations, fishery assistance offices, national fish hatcheries, national wildlife refuges, research laboratories, and wildlife assistance offices. Unless otherwise stated for a particular matter in the regulations, all persons may secure from the regional offices information or make submittals or requests, as well as obtain forms and instructions as to the scope and contents of papers or reports required of the public. The geographic jurisdictions and addresses of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife regional offices are as follows:

(a) Pacific Regional Office (Region 1—comprising the States of Hawaii, Idaho, Oregon, and Washington; the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands; and American Samoa, Guam, and other Pacific possessions), Eastside Federal Complex, 911 NE. 11th Avenue, Portland, Oregon 97232.

(b) Southwest Regional Office (Region 2—comprising the States of Arizona, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas), 500 Gold Avenue SW., Room 9018 (P.O. Box 1306), Albuquerque, New Mexico 87102.

(c) Midwest Regional Office (Region 3—comprising the States of Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Ohio, and Wisconsin), 5600 American Boulevard West, Suite 990, Bloomington, Minnesota 55437.

(d) Southeast Regional Office (Region 4—comprising the States of Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee; the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico; and the Virgin Islands and Caribbean possessions), 1875 Century Boulevard, Suite 400, Atlanta, Georgia 30345.

(e) Northeast Regional Office (Region 5—comprising the States of Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia, and West Virginia; and the District of Columbia), 300 Westgate Center Drive, Hadley, Massachusetts 01035.

(f) Mountain-Prairie Regional Office (Region 6—comprising the States of Colorado, Kansas, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah and Wyoming), 134 Union Boulevard (P.O. Box 25486), Lakewood, Colorado 80228.

(g) Alaska Regional Office (Region 7—comprising the State of Alaska), 1011 E. Tudor Road, Anchorage, Alaska 99503.

(h) Pacific Southwest Regional Office (Region 8—comprising the States of California and Nevada), 2800 Cottage Way, Room W-2606, Sacramento, California 95825.

[78 FR 35151, June 12, 2013, as amended at 79 FR 43963, July 29, 2014]

return arrow Back to Top

Need assistance?