e-CFR banner


e-CFR Navigation Aids


Simple Search

Advanced Search

 — Boolean

 — Proximity


Search History

Search Tips


Latest Updates

User Info


Agency List

Incorporation By Reference

eCFR logo

Related Resources


Electronic Code of Federal Regulations

e-CFR data is current as of March 26, 2020

Title 42Chapter IVSubchapter GPart 485Subpart F → §485.606

Title 42: Public Health
Subpart F—Conditions of Participation: Critical Access Hospitals (CAHs)

§485.606   Designation and certification of CAHs.

(a) Criteria for State designation. (1) A State that has established a Medicare rural hospital flexibility program described in section 1820(c) of the Act may designate one or more facilities as CAHs if each facility meets the CAH conditions of participation in this subpart F.

(2) The State must not deny any hospital that is otherwise eligible for designation as a CAH under this paragraph (a) solely because the hospital has entered into an agreement under which the hospital may provide posthospital SNF care as described in §482.58 of this chapter.

(b) Criteria for CMS certification. CMS certifies a facility as a CAH if—

(1) The facility is designated as a CAH by the State in which it is located and has been surveyed by the State survey agency or by CMS and found to meet all conditions of participation in this part and all other applicable requirements for participation in part 489 of this chapter.

(2) The facility is a medical assistance facility operating in Montana or a rural primary care hospital designated by CMS before August 5, 1997, and is otherwise eligible to be designated as a CAH by the State under the rules in this subpart.

[62 FR 46036, Aug. 29, 1997, as amended at 63 FR 26359, May 12, 1998; 79 FR 27155, May 12, 2014]

Need assistance?