e-CFR Navigation Aids


Simple Search

Advanced Search

 — Boolean

 — Proximity


Search History

Search Tips


Latest Updates

User Info


Agency List

Incorporation By Reference

eCFR logo

Related Resources

Electronic Code of Federal Regulations

We invite you to try out our new beta eCFR site at https://ecfr.federalregister.gov. We have made big changes to make the eCFR easier to use. Be sure to leave feedback using the Feedback button on the bottom right of each page!

e-CFR data is current as of May 4, 2021

Title 29Subtitle BChapter XIIPart 1410 → §1410.3

Title 29: Labor

§1410.3   Individual access requests.

(a) Individuals who desire to know whether the agency maintains a system of records containing records pertaining to him may submit a written request to the Director of Administration, Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service, Washington, DC 20427. The request must include the name and address of the requestor. The Director of Administration, or his designated representative, will advise the requestor in writing within 10 working days whether the records are so maintained and the general category of records maintained within the system.

(b) Any individual who desires to inspect or receive copies of any record maintained within the system concerning him shall submit a written request to the Director of Administration, Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service, Washington, DC 20427, reasonably identifying the records sought to be inspected or copied.

(c) The individual seeking access to his record may also have another person accompanying him during his review of the records. If the requestor desires another person to accompany him during the inspection, the requestor must sign a statement, to be furnished to the Service representative at the time of the inspection authorizing such other person to accompany him. Except as required under the Freedom of Information Act, permitted as a routine use as published in the agency's annual notice, or for internal agency use, disclosure of records will only be made to the individual to whom the record pertains, unless written consent is obtained from that individual. The Director of Administration will verify the signature of the individual requesting or consenting to the disclosure of a record prior to the disclosure thereof to any other person by a comparison of signatures, if the request or consent is not executed within the presence of a designated Service representative.

(d) The Director of Administration or his designated representative will advise the requestor in writing within 10 working days of receipt of the request whether, to what extent, and approximately when and where access shall be granted. Within 30 days of receipt of the request, the records will be made available for review at the FMCS National Office in Washington, DC, or one of the Regional Offices. The following is a list of the Regional Office locations:

1. Eastern Region:

Address: Jacob K. Javits Federal Building, 26 Federal Plaza, Room 2937, New York, NY 10278.

Consists of: Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Connecticut, Rhode Island, Massachusetts, New York, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, Pennsylvania, Delaware, New Jersey, Garrett and Alleghany Counties of Maryland; and Brooke and Hancock Counties of West Virginia.

2. Central Region:

Address: Insurance Exchange Building, Room 1641, 175 W. Jackson Street, Chicago, IL 60604.

Consist of: Illinois (except counties listed under the Southern Region); Indiana (except counties listed under Southern Region); Wisconsin, Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, Michigan, and Ohio (except counties listed under the Southern Region).

3.  Southern Region:

Address: Suite 400, 1422 W. Peachtree St., NW., Atlanta, GA 30309.

Consists of: Virginia, Maryland (except counties listed under the Eastern Region); Tennessee; North Carolina; South Carolina; Georgia; Alabama; Florida; Mississippi; Louisiana; Arkansas; Kentucky; Texas (except for Hudspeth and El Paso counties); Oklahoma; Missouri (except for those counties listed for the Western Region); Illinois (in counties of Calhoun, Greene, Jersey, McCoupin, Montgomery, Fayette, Bond, Madison, St. Clair, Monroe, Clinton, Washington, Marion, White, Hamilton, Wayne, Edwards, Wabash, Lawrence, Richland, Clay, Effingham, Jasper, and Crawford); Indiana (the counties of Knox, Daviess, Martin, Orange, Washington, Clark, Floyd, Harrison, Crawford, Perry, Spencer, DuBois, Pike, Gibson, Posey, Vanderburgh, and Warrick); Ohio (the counties of Butler, Hamilton, Warren, Clermont, Brown, Highland, Clinton, Ross, Pike, Adams, Scioto, Lawrence, Ballia, Jackson, Vinton, Hocking, Athens, and Meigs); Kansas (the counties of Bourbon, Crawford, Cherokee, and Ottawa); West Virginia (except counties listed under the Central Region); and the Canal Zone.

4.  Western Region:

Address: Francisco Bay Building, Suite 235, 50 Francisco Street, San Francisco, CA 94133.

Consists of: California; Nevada; Arizona; New Mexico; El Paso and Hudspeth Counties (only) in Texas; Hawaii; Guam; Alaska; Washington; Oregon; Colorado; Utah; Wyoming; Montana; Idaho; Nebraska; Kansas; Iowa; Missouri (the counties of Atchinson, Nodaway, Worth, Harrison, Mercer, Putnam, Schuyler, Scotland, Knox, Adair, Sullivan, Grundy, Daviess, Gentry, DeKalb, Andrew, Holt, Buchanan, Clinton, Caldwell, Livingston, Linn, Macon, Shelby, Randolph, Chariton, Carrol, Ray, Clay, Platte, Jackson, Lafayette, Saline, Howard, Boon, Cooper, Pettis, Johnson, Cass, Bates, Henry, St. Clair, Benton, and Morgan); American Somoa; and Wake Island.

[40 FR 47418, Oct. 8, 1975, as amended at 47 FR 10530, Mar. 11, 1982]

Need assistance?