About GPO   |   Newsroom/Media   |   Congressional Relations   |   Inspector General   |   Careers   |   Contact   |   askGPO   |   Help  
Home   |   Customers   |   Vendors   |   Libraries  
The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government produced by the Office of the Federal Register (OFR) and the Government Publishing Office.

Parallel Table of Authorities and Rules for the Code of Federal Regulations and the United States Code
Text | PDF

Find, review, and submit comments on Federal rules that are open for comment and published in the Federal Register using Regulations.gov.

Purchase individual CFR titles from the U.S. Government Online Bookstore.

Find issues of the CFR (including issues prior to 1996) at a local Federal depository library.


Electronic Code of Federal Regulations

e-CFR data is current as of April 20, 2015

Title 5Chapter XVISubchapter BPart 2641Subpart C → Appendix

Title 5: Administrative Personnel
Subpart C—Exceptions, Waivers and Separate Components

Appendix B to Part 2641—Agency Components for Purposes of 18 U.S.C. 207(c)

Pursuant to the provisions of 18 U.S.C. 207(h), each of the following agencies is determined, for purposes of 18 U.S.C. 207(c), and 5 CFR 2641.204, to have within it distinct and separate components as set forth below. Except as otherwise indicated, all designations are effective as of January 1, 1991.

Parent: Department of Commerce


   Bureau of the Census.

   Bureau of Industry and Security (formerly Bureau of Export Administration) (effective January 28, 1992).

   Economic Development Administration.

   International Trade Administration.

   Minority Business Development Agency (formerly listed as Minority Business Development Administration).

   National Institute of Standards and Technology (effective March 6, 2008).

   National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.

   National Technical Information Service (effective March 6, 2008).

   National Telecommunications and Information Administration.

   United States Patent and Trademark Office (formerly Patent and Trademark Office).

Parent: Department of Defense


   Department of the Air Force.

   Department of the Army.

   Department of the Navy.

   Defense Information Systems Agency.

   Defense Intelligence Agency.

   Defense Logistics Agency.

   Defense Threat Reduction Agency (effective February 5, 1999).

   National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency (formerly National Imagery and Mapping Agency) (effective May 16, 1997).

   National Reconnaissance Office (effective January 30, 2003).

   National Security Agency.

Parent: Department of Energy


   Federal Energy Regulatory Commission.

Parent: Department of Health and Human Services


   Administration for Children and Families (effective January 28, 1992).

   Administration for Community Living (effective December 4, 2014).

   Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (formerly Agency for Health Care Policy and Research) (effective May 16, 1997).

   Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (effective May 16, 1997).

   Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (effective May 16, 1997).

   Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (formerly Health Care Financing Administration).

   Food and Drug Administration.

   Health Resources and Services Administration (effective May 16, 1997).

   Indian Health Service (effective May 16, 1997).

   National Institutes of Health (effective May 16, 1997).

   Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (effective May 16, 1997).

Parent: Department of the Interior


1All designated components under the jurisdiction of a particular Assistant Secretary shall be considered a single component for purposes of determining the scope of 18 U.S.C. 207(c) as applied to senior employees serving on the immediate staff of that Assistant Secretary.

   Bureau of Indian Affairs (effective January 28, 1992).

   Bureau of Land Management (effective January 28, 1992).

   Bureau of Reclamation (effective January 28, 1992).

   Minerals Management Service (effective January 28, 1992).

   National Park Service (effective January 28, 1992).

   Office of Surface Mining Reclamation and Enforcement (effective January 28, 1992).

   U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (effective January 28, 1992).

   U.S. Geological Survey (effective January 28, 1992).

Parent: Department of Justice


   Antitrust Division.

   Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (effective November 23, 2004).

   Bureau of Prisons (including Federal Prison Industries, Inc.).

   Civil Division.

   Civil Rights Division.

   Community Relations Service.

   Criminal Division.

   Drug Enforcement Administration.

   Environment and Natural Resources Division.

   Executive Office for United States Attorneys2 (effective January 28, 1992).

2The Executive Office for United States Attorneys shall not be considered separate from any Office of the United States Attorney for a judicial district, but only from other designated components of the Department of Justice.

   Executive Office for United States Trustees3 (effective January 28, 1992).

3The Executive Office for United States Trustees shall not be considered separate from any Office of the United States Trustee for a region, but only from other designated components of the Department of Justice.

   Federal Bureau of Investigation.

   Foreign Claims Settlement Commission.

   Independent Counsel appointed by the Attorney General.

   Office of Justice Programs.

   Office of the Pardon Attorney (effective January 28, 1992).

   Offices of the United States Attorney (each of 94 offices).

   Offices of the United States Trustee (each of 21 offices).

   Office on Violence Against Women4 (effective March 8, 2007).

4The Office on Violence Against Women shall not be considered separate from the Office of Justice Programs, but only from other designated components of the Department of Justice.

   Tax Division.

   United States Marshals Service (effective May 16, 1997).

   United States Parole Commission.

Parent: Department of Labor


   Bureau of Labor Statistics.

   Employee Benefits Security Administration (formerly Pension and Welfare Benefits Administration) (effective May 16, 1997).

   Employment and Training Administration.

   Employment Standards Administration.

   Mine Safety and Health Administration.

   Occupational Safety and Health Administration.

   Office of Disability Employment Policy (effective January 30, 2003).

   Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation (effective May 25, 2011).

Parent: Department of State


   Foreign Service Grievance Board.

Parent: Department of Transportation


   Federal Aviation Administration.

   Federal Highway Administration.

   Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (effective January 30, 2003).

   Federal Railroad Administration.

   Federal Transit Administration.

   Maritime Administration.

   National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

   Saint Lawrence Seaway Development Corporation.

   Surface Transportation Board (effective May 16, 1997).

Parent: Department of the Treasury


   Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (effective November 23, 2004).

   Bureau of Engraving and Printing.

   Bureau of the Fiscal Service (effective December 4, 2014).

   Comptroller of the Currency.

   Financial Crimes Enforcement Center (FinCEN) (effective January 30, 2003).

   Internal Revenue Service.

   United States Mint (formerly listed as Bureau of the Mint).

[73 FR 36186, June 25, 2008, as amended at 76 FR 30246, May 25, 2011; 79 FR 71957, Dec. 4, 2014]

Need assistance?